Rabbit’s Blues: The Story of Johnny Hodges

For over 40 years, alto saxophonist Johnny Hodges was the primary solo voice of the Duke Ellington Orchestra. 2019 brought the first ever biography of this timeless jazz giant: “Rabbit’s Blues: The Life & Music of Johnny Hodges” by author Con Chapman, published by Oxford University Press. For this episode we talked with the author of this important biography.


“Jeep’s Blues” Johnny Hodges with Duke Ellington
“Smada” Johnny Hodges with Duke Ellington
“In a Sentimental Mood” Johnny Hodges with Lawrence Welk
“The Intimacy of the Blues” Johnny Hodges with Duke Ellington
“Wishing & Waiting” Johnny Hodges
“Bechet’s Fantasy” Sidney Bechet
“The Blues with a Feelin'” Johnny Hodges with Duke Ellington
“Don’t Get Around Much Anymore” Johnny Hodges
“Things Ain’t What They Used To Be” Johnny Hodges
“Passion Flower” Johnny Hodges
“Funky Blues” Johnny Hodges & Charlie Parker
“On the Sunny Side of the Street” Johnny Hodges
“Blood Count” Johnny Hodges with Duke Ellington
“Warm Valley” Johnny Hodges with Duke Ellington

Share this:

Published December 7th, 2019 by Bob Hecht

Comment on this:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *